How do y’all handle family members hating on Britney?

Hey everyone! I experienced this last night and I wanted to know how ya’ll handle this. My brother in law is staying for a while and I was in my pajamas and wearing a Britney shirt. I went downstairs and he say it and he said ‘woahhh Britney Spears? How do you like that talentless hack’ and I was like she isn’t talentless stop hating. And he said oh I’m sorry she lip syncs. And I explained to him Britney mostly does playback. And my mom is making comments saying ‘she looks so high and drugged out now’ and I said ‘she has no history of dr*g use, her test results from 2007 came back and she tested negative. I’m also studying psychology in school rn and we have a dr*g unit and she doesn’t meet some of the behaviors and physical appearance that dr**s cause. And then he said well at least you aren’t listening to the stuff that’s coming out nowadays. But how do y’all handle this stuff when a family member hates on Britney to you? I live in Alabama and I’m 17 and they are conservative so it’s hard to talk mental health and stuff like that with them but have any of y’all experienced this before? I’m a very non confrontational person so I was like all shaky afterwards cause I can never defend myself lol. But yeah any advice? 

I’m sorry that happen :( 

honestly, just ignore them. It’s a very ignorant- not great  behavior to bully your kids taste in music or whatever, because you are experiencing what you like, and growing with it, it’s part of your personality, cultural taste in music, etc. Best thing to do it’s to keep liking the things YOU LIKE because the most important thing it’s that ( you like them) anyone else it’s an outsider of your world, it doesn’t matter if they respect it or not. 

Edited by Imnotcrazy
  • Love 2
8 minutes ago, LoveYourselfMas said:

“I’m also studying psychology in school rn and we have a dr*g unit and she doesn’t meet some of the behaviors and physical appearance that dr**s cause.”