How did you finance graduate school?

SlayOut

• Super Mods

For those located within the United States and have completed a Masters or PhD program, how did you fund your graduate schooling?

It has almost been six years since I earned my undergraduate degree, but due to my need to earn money and address mental health issues, I haven’t pursued graduate level coursework. Part of it also stems from not knowing what I’d want to study, or what degree to pursue.

I guess I’m curious how you have funded your degree. Did you save money from working and pay that way? Did you take on lots of debt? Did you receive some form of scholarship that lessened your financial contribution to your degree? Did you do an online degree and continue full time work?

Any perspectives would be useful, as I’m contemplating an advanced degree (albeit I’d need to take whatever qualifying exams and figure out a program I’d want to pursue…)

• Love 1

I am getting a master’s degree in Data Science online. I went to a top 15 school for my undergrad in psychology  and ended up with 30k in federal student loans. I worked for a few years as a caseworker and hated the working conditions and the pay. So I decided to make a change and looked into data science. My whole master’s degree is only 10k, which was funded by my job until I quit. Now I am relying on federal students loans again. I am comfortable with going with student loans again because I believe I can get a good return on investment with a stem degree. 

My advice regarding school is to go to somewhere accredited and cheap. Name brand schools can open doors, sure. However, I found myself working with people with degrees from much more affordable schools and they weren’t in nearly as much debt. 

Also, I would recommend having a concrete plan for the job you want after the degree and to make that job pays well enough to justify the degree in the first place. 

Best of luck!

• Love 1