Samantha Mumba Talks About Career And Comeback In New Interview

thepeterpanos

EDIT: This is my first time posting on Exhale so if anybody could help me with embedding the videos, that would be amazing! Please be kind lol!

Samantha Mumba might be one of the most mysterious pop stars of our generation. The Irish born singer burst onto the music scene at just 17 years old and took the world by storm. Her sultry voice and undeniable stage presence helped sky rocket her to the top of the charts in 2000. With a lineup of hit singles from her debut album, Gotta Tell You, the "Always Come Back To Your Love" singer seemed to be on top of the music industry.

Mumba went on to top the charts in several countries, earned a Grammy Award nomination and even landed a starring role in 2002's blockbuster hit, The Time Machine. But even with all of her commercial success, a resume that most artists could only ever dream of, the singer seemed to step away from the music scene after plans of her follow up album seemed to be shelved by her record label.

Fast forward to today, twenty years since her debut, and we were still asking: what the heck happened to Samatha Mumba? We got the chance to hang out with Samantha (virtually, of course) to discuss everything from her first album to her highly anticipated sophomore album.

So, embracing the pop music fans that we are, we couldn't resist starting off our sit down (which included delicious glasses of wine) with the most popular question from our oh so curious readers. We asked, "what happened?" And the answer might be less dramatic than you'd expect. "There's no huge drama or horrendous thing," says Mumba who was glowing during out chat. "I very much so got caught in a merge when all of the labels kind of condensed into two and three large labels. My entire team was wiped out so I had all new people around me and they were kind of walking on eggshells as well. Nobody's jobs were secure and it was just kind of a weird time."