"Mexican Madonna" Gloria Trevi Appreciation Thread

I’ve never done one of these before but seeing some others, I felt compelled to create a tribute thread to one of MY first idols and favorite latin artists, Gloria Trevi!

Gloria-Trevi-june-2016-billboard-1548-768x433.jpg.d3a400ec770880db37aa96b967d93bf8.jpg

Gloria Trevi has long been known as the “Mexican Madonna” primarily for her controversial image, career and life. Gloria’s story is EXTREMELY fascinating and continues to be very controversial. 

In 1985 at the age of 17, she started out in a small girl group named Boquitas Pintadas (Painted Lips). With little success, the group broke up after only 3 years at which point she caught the eye of Mexican producer, Sergio Andrade. You could equate Sergio Andrade to Lou Pearlman, the mastermind behind the boy band craze in the late 90’s. Like Lou Peralman, Sergio Andrade ran a “talent factory” where he would take in young kids with the promise of turning them into big stars. Gloria Trevi was one of his “students” and arguably one the most talented. There were often rumors that Sergio would have inappropriate relationships with the girls he worked with, including Gloria, but despite the toxic environment, Gloria and Sergio made magic in the studio and in 1989, they released Gloria’s first solo album which spawned her first #1 Latin American hit, Dr. Psiquiatra (Dr. Psychiatrist). She went on to release 5 more studio albums through 1995 selling over 5 million albums in Latin America.

While she was a talented singer/songwriter, she was best known for her provocative and controversial image and performances. Even with a strong following, to the general public she was seen as tacky and vulgar. Many today would argue that she was way ahead of her time and people of that generation just couldn’t handle her.

screen-shot-2015-02-15-at-10-29-51-am-60

Turmoil and Arrest