Is Bipolar a Justification for a Permanent C-ship?

Arckangel

Though some media outlets ( such as People or the Daily Mail ) reported Britney to have a bipolar condition, I'm not sure her medical records and diagnoses were ever made public. Britney once jokingly referred to "bipolar disorder" in a special. Now, whether or not she truly does have bipolar, could her team use bipolar or whatever or condition as an excuse to keep her locked in that c-ship for even longer?

I suppose that's what is going since she is still under c-ship after 12 years and 4 months, and a legal justification is required (though it may be pure chicanery at point).

I am not a medical doctor, and each case is different. All I know is that a lot of people (incl. some rich celebrities) w/ bipolar (or other conditions) manage to retain their legal freedom; they simply need to monitor their health, consult doctors, therapists, etc. And they are aided by assistants, advisers, etc. Team c-ship wants the public (and esp. the court) to believe Brit is apt enough to work but still gravely disabled in the mental sense and cannot function without the parameters of a permanent c-ship (personal & financial).

IF Britney does have bipolar, could it prevent her from obtaining her freedom?

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't think it is, no. The whole concept of the conservatorship (from what I've grasped) is that they're meant for people who basically cannot do anything for themselves, or make rational decisions. I do find it concerning how her mental state has seemingly regressed from the last time she really spoke openly about her situation in FTR, though. As much as I'd like to think there would be professionals around her giving her the best advice and ways of dealing, I find myself doubting it, especially as more and more has been dug up about how the c'ship is being handled.