Learning a foreign language

KillersWhoArePartying

Hey guys, I noticed a lot of you seem to write in perfect english even tho it is not your first language.

I'm currently learning Spanish and have gotten pretty good at it actually, but I'm studying abroad in Spain next semester and I need to get reallyyyy good before I get there this summer so I don't fail my classes :lowkeyno: I'd say I'm at a low intermediate level, I just took 2 years of it in college and am almost done with rosetta stone, I also use duolingo quite often and am currently staying with my family in Mexico for a little under a month to get some more practice in. I can definitely have a conversation in it but I'd like to get to the point where it just flows completely naturally like English does.

Does anyone here care to share their experiences in currently learning or successfully becoming fluent in a different language than the one you grew up knowing?

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

apps and courses are one thing but I'd say the two biggest helps will be: interaction with native speakers and consumption of media.. the first one you seem to already have in the bag, regarding media, I only know english this well because I've been a Western media / pop culture junkie since I was like 5 or 6.. cartoons, movies, video games, MUSIC, later in life YouTube - they're all a huge part of my english skills.. also - time, it takes plenty of time.. :) I had Russian in school for like 6 years and I'm still garbage at it.. I can for the most part understand what people are saying but I can't reply myself and when it comes to grammar I'm just completely worthless.. :plzexplain: I've also picked up quite a bit of Korean though it's still in the early stages.. I can read hangul and I know a bunch of words / phrases but that's about it.. :)